top of page

The Fourth Judicial District

Hennepin County Courts


10 Judicial Districts

There are 10 judicial districts in the state.  Two of the 10 judicial districts are limited to one county:  the 4th (Hennepin) and the 2nd (Ramsey).  The other judicial districts are made up of multiple counties.  The Fourth District has seven court locations and hears 40% of all cases in the state.

The Judges

Hennepin County has a diverse group of 63 judges.  Most judges are appointed by the Governor through a competitive merit-based process.  They can also run for election.  Judge Koch was appointed.  Then, like all appointed judges, he was up for election during the next election.  Judges serve for six-year terms.  Out of the 63 judges, Judge Koch is currently #15 in seniority.  He will soon move up a couple of spots due to retirements.  Judges must retire at 70.

Our Court: Issues
bottom of page